A Late Top Five

Sorry these are so late, but I’ve been incredibly busy lately. I don’t think the whole Top Ten T Day thing is going to work out.  I don’t really like the whole idea of a set schedule. I still may put out some lists, however they may or may not be on Tuesday.  Anyways, here’s my top five websites. Yes, the descriptions are short. I may add more later.

5. Google

I hope I don’t need to explain this one

4. Tumblr

I know I said that WordPress is my favourite blogging platform, and it still is. I like Tumblr because it is much more social and personal than other blogging platforms and doesn’t take itself too seriously.

3. CBC

Not only is the CBC a great source for news, it is also publicly funded. Because it is publicly funded,  it seems like the whole country owns it, not just a few wealthy investors. Plus i really like their programming.

2. YouTube

A force to be reckoned with not only within social media but traditional media as well, YouTube is such an amazing community that has an incredible amount of power. The content quality rises every day, and many people are starting to make a business of what was once an oddball hobby. There are several YouTubers making six-figure salaries every year through the Partner Program.

1. Wikipedia

Wikipedia has such a bad rap that it doesn’t deserve one bit. The whiners always say that it is not a trustworthy source because it is edited by everyday people. But these people have no idea how Wikipedia works. There are moderators, people! They have veto power on everything that is put on the site. And if someone does mess with a popular, relevant article, the community will quickly edit it away. The principle of Wikipedia is such a good one. Everybody has at least a piece of information that is valuable to someone else, and now they have an outlet to share it.

 

Comments
3 Responses to “A Late Top Five”
  1. IT-Blog says:

    Well I am not sure that I agree number 3 and 4 should be on the list, but I guess everybody has his/her own list 🙂

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Brennan says:

    Yeah, now that I think about it, I’d probably re-arrange the websites if I had the chance.
    Oh, and by the way, thanks for linking to my blog! I’ve gotten probably a good quarter of my page views from your site, and I appreciate it a lot. 🙂

  3. IT-Blog says:

    You are welcome.
    I am sure we both can benefit from helping each other. I also get traffic the other way by writing comments here at your site.

    Keep blogging 🙂

Leave a Reply

